Apostrophes Are Free


I recently received a comment from someone stating that my blog was “disappointing.” Apparently I am looking for attention in my whining and that I am too busy because of this to fix what is wrong. Everyone is entitled to free speech, my blog included. You are entitled to not like it, but your comment was less than constructive and rather whiney as well.   Maybe I should “whine” some more and discuss what you wrote?

Encourage a little constructive criticism.

Here is the comment in whole:

The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

I’d like to first address that you commented on Censored, the SOPA/PIPA post. Hello, maybe you should educate yourself on why I was posting and realize that I wasn’t whining. I was helping to draw attention to a national issue that could adversely effect my blog (regardless of how pointless you may see my blog as being) and the rest of the Internet in its entirety.

Secondly, I apparently have nothing interesting to say.  My blog, like SO many others out there, will not speak to everyone.  I do not write my blogs for a place to find information on a new product OR to discuss what’s going on in America today all day everyday OR to be educational.  I write my blog simply for my pleasure, and if you had looked at my page, “The Truth Behind the Name,” you would have understood a little more as to why I write.  It’s a recreational blog.

In general, I like to write.  I went to school for marketing and found a strange love for copywriting.  I get to speak(write) in someone else’s voice and make a product sound more fun and more interesting.  Most of my posts here stem from the occasional inability to sleep or some frustration in what I have been dealing with.  I started it during my last year in college and it has stemmed into my after college life, naturally.  I use my time effectively enough to try and right every “problem” that I blog about.

Next time that I receive a comment (although I know that this request may seem selfish and is completely out of my hands), if someone wants to comment negatively, not constructively, I would suggest that you properly learn how to use a apostrophe (they’re free!) when employing a contraction.  Hey! I’m not perfect: I make a few comma splices, misspell a word here and there, and occasional use a dangling modifier.  I would also suggest you offer advice on how to fix the problem, whatever it may be.  As one person I cannot “fix” SOPA/PIPA by myself, but in order to be heard, signing petitions, writing to my congressmen, and writing a blog were the correct paths to take for the fixing.  <—–  See what I did there, I offered a suggestion in how you can fix something.  I was being constructive.

You may think I’m whining, but I’m just pointing out that I don’t write for you, I write for myself.  If people enjoy what I write, AWESOME.  If they don’t, I never made them read it.  It’s not as if they just paid $11 to go watch a crappy movie in which they’ll never get back that money or time spent.

PS – I have some cheese if you’d like.

 

About Katie

I have a Marketing Degree from Rutgers and no "career job" to show for it. However, that does not mean that I cannot try and live the dream. Work where I can, when I can; whether that be at the same place I've worked since high school or seasonally elsewhere. Never stop living and loving the life that is mine. Call it fluff, but it's my silver lining. View all posts by Katie

2 responses to “Apostrophes Are Free

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

